Are You There Blog? It’s Me, Jenna

Quite clearly, blogging has not even crossed my mind since starting at UNF. But the best part about that, is that I haven’t posted because I have been so BUSY! My freshman year at UNCW was, for the most part, uneventful (until the spring). I didn’t really try to make friends, explore Wilmington, or work really hard on my studies. I didn’t really do yoga consistently. The gym was my focus, but I was a cardio bunny just trying to be skinny. Sound like someone you know? Yeah, I call it freshman syndrome. Anywhooooo, this year is TOTALLY DIFFERENT. To begin, I have made 2 super great best friends and tons more friends too! I also have found my true love of indoor spinning. I don’t need a class anymore; I just walk to the gym and hop on my own bike and crush that shit. I work out MY ENTIRE BODY (the last two weeks being a small exception). And I am, finally, in the right place at the right time, HAPPY AND CONTENT. I am not wishing to be home constantly (although I still do miss my family and puppies from time to time). I’m not grumbling over the school I am attending. I am not just getting by in classes. I am THRIVING, and I couldn’t be more grateful for where I have landed myself. My hard work, with the help of my family and friends, has truly paid off. THIS IS WHAT LIFE SHOULD FEEL LIKE! I am at peace.

So with this “new” fresh perspective, I am going to be changing some things on the blog. Because I am in college, my eating habits have been all over the place. From late night binges, to hardly eating (both just kind of happened, they weren’t conscious actions fyi). I just haven’t found my food balance. I live on campus in a dorm, and have to walk down the hall to utilize a kitchen. I’m not gonna lie; it’s been tough and I’ve been lazy. But last night, as I was laying in bed in deep contemplation of my diet, I realized I just missed my straight-from-the-earth, eat-to-satisfy vegan diet (I haven’t been off the vegan lifestyle except for some donuts [oops] but I have definitely been eating way more processed foods than usual). So, in lieu of this realization, I also decided that, for at least a while, I am not going to resume the Monday Munch. I want to get back into my natural rhythm and the Monday Munch feels like a chore where I have to show the best version of a day of food for me. So instead, I will just randomly post a ‘What I’ve been eating’ so you guys still get some meal/snack ideas. I do, however, want to resume the grocery haul posts that I used to do religiously! I love these (mainly because I love grocery shopping). That way, if there are any other college students reading, you can see all the stuff I cram into my 4.5 cubic feet mini fridge (you’d be surprised at how much I can fit in there). I also am going to add meal plans to each grocery haul, so you know what I do with the ingredients!

RECAP TIME!!!

When I first came to school, I was placed in a double room in my suite (4 singles 1 double). But, one of our roommates never moved into one of the singles so I swapped for that one. I definitely didn’t think I would be able to comfortably practice yoga in my room, but then I learned I should never doubt myself. If you follow me on instagram (@jenbenna) you’ll see the proof!

IMG_6071

And here’s what my humble abode looks like:

JPEG image-55309B5F2D55-1 IMG_6088

Here’s some arm progress too – top picture was taken in early August, second in mid September

UNF is located in Jacksonville, Florida and is a quick 15 min drive to Jacksonville Beach… so obvs I had to do beach yoga

35CCBBD9-9E3D-4108-81C7-E48408493E71

IMG_6236

And we can’t forget the food right? Well I have actually been TERRIBLE about taking pictures of my yummy food, but here’s what I do have

IMG_6049 IMG_6066

D4C4E548-E6CC-4AA9-8E25-5C320C77BD18  IMG_6058

First is an almond crunch smoothie from Happy Cup in Atlantic Beach.

One of my go-to salads: organic romaine, organic carrots, organic green bell pepper organic celery, hemp seeds, pumpkin seeds, walnuts, flaxseeds + vegan Ranch Dressing

My new favorite addiction…iced coffee with almond milk. I used the brand Califia Farms. Here, I’m double fisting the double espresso flavor. I also LOVE the mocha and salted caramel flavors

The BEST vegan ice cream I have ever bought at a store: So Delicious Cashew Milk Cappuccino (the salted caramel cluster flavor ties with this one though..)

IMG_6517

Things to look forward to on the blog:

  • cycling playlist (with position cues)
  • favorite workout clothes for different activities
  • grocery haul coming this week with meal planning
  • upper + lower body circuit plans

Obviously, I can’t make any promises about upkeep on the blog. However, I am feeling reinvigorated to write again so I can tell you that I will try my hardest to get 1-2 posts a week! Enjoy the rest of your Sunday and have a great week!

Leave a comment